The Saturday Night Ghost Club

audio title

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

A Novel

Craig Davidson, Corey Brill

$17.50

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

An irresistible and bittersweet coming-of-age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends

"A celebration of the secret lives of children, both their wonders and their horrors . . . Immensely enjoyable, piercingly clever, and satisfyingly soulful." -Jason Heller, NPR

Growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls - a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place - Jake Baker spends most of his time with his uncle Calvin, a kind but eccentric enthusiast of occult artifacts and conspiracy theories. The summer Jake turns twelve, he befriends a pair of siblings new to town, and so Calvin decides to initiate them all into the "Saturday Night Ghost Club." But as the summer goes on, what begins as a seemingly light-hearted project may ultimately uncover more than any of its members had imagined. With the alternating warmth and sadness of the best coming-of-age stories, The Saturday Night Ghost Club is a note-perfect novel that poignantly examines the haunting mutability of memory and storytelling, as well as the experiences that form the people we become, and establishes Craig Davidson as a remarkable literary talent.


Author

Craig Davidson:
CRAIG DAVIDSON was born and grew up in St. Catharines, Ontario, near Niagara Falls. He has published four previous books of literary fiction: Rust and Bone, which was made into an Golden Globe-nominated feature film, The Fighter, Sarah Court, and the Scotiabank Giller Prize-nominated Cataract City. Davidson is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and his articles and journalism have been published in the Esquire,GQ, and The Washington Post, among other places. He lives in Toronto, Canada, with his partner and their child. He also publishes bestselling horror fiction under the pseudonym Nick Cutter.


CRAIG DAVIDSON was born and grew up in St. Catharines, Ontario, near Niagara Falls. He has published four previous books of literary fiction: Rust and Bone, which was made into an Golden Globe-nominated feature film, The Fighter, Sarah Court, and the Scotiabank Giller Prize-nominated Cataract City. Davidson is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and his articles and journalism have been published in the Esquire,GQ, and The Washington Post, among other places. He lives in Toronto, Canada, with his partner and their child. He also publishes bestselling horror fiction under the pseudonym Nick Cutter.

Info

Reviews