Commodus

Commodus

The Damned Emperors Book 2

Simon Turney

$7.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

'Astonishing . . . A fascinating, detailed and dramatic story of one of Rome's most notorious emperors' SUNDAY EXPRESS

Commodus is a brilliant, thrilling novel about one of Rome's most intriguing - and notorious - emperors, for fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Christian Cameron, Ben Kane and Harry Sidebottom.

Rome is enjoying a period of stability and prosperity. The Empire's borders are growing, and there are two sons in the imperial succession for the first time in Rome's history.

But all is not as it appears. Cracks are beginning to show. Two decades of war have taken their toll, and there are whispers of a sickness in the East. The Empire stands on the brink of true disaster, an age of gold giving way to one of iron and rust, a time of reason and strength sliding into hunger and pain.

The decline may yet be halted, though. One man tries to hold the fracturing empire together. To Rome, he is their emperor, their Hercules, their Commodus.

But Commodus is breaking up himself, and when the darkness grips, only one woman can hold him together. To Rome she was nothing. The plaything of the emperor. To Commodus, she was everything. She was Marcia.

From the author of the critically acclaimed Caligula ('an engrossing new spin on a well-known tale' - The Times) comes the new novel in The Damned Emperors series: Commodus.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE DAMNED EMPEROR SERIES:

'Commodus by Simon Turney is my sort of historical fiction - people who actually lived - with their lives told in an intriguing and interesting way' - Amazon review

'Truly a magnificent read, insightful, powerful, emotional and gripping from the start' - Amazon review

'Simon Turner is a first class writer, and he certainly did his research well' Amazon review


Author

Info

Reviews