Burning Island

Burning Island

Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction

Suzanne Goldring

$4.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

They were not her children. But she would protect them with her life…

Corfu 1944. Though they don’t know it, five-year-old Matilde and three-year-old Anna have kissed their mother for the last time. The Nazis have reached their sun-scorched home, and they are being taken to a place of safety, on the north-eastern tip of the rocky island, to be hidden at great risk by kindly Agata and her husband until the terrible war is over.

Matilde and Anna’s tears are soothed by Agata’s bedtime stories, but she is always alert. So far no soldiers have ventured down the steep rocky hillside to their secret haven, but Agata knows they are constantly scouring the island for missing Jews. And then, on a day when Agata’s husband is away, a German soldier appears…

  1. Under a baking June sun, Amber and her husband arrive in Corfu from England, hoping for a fresh start. But not everyone is pleased by their arrival, and with the pressures of pregnancy, the couple grow further apart. Desperate to find a sense of belonging for herself and her unborn child, Amber finds herself drawn to the local story of two little girls, left by their parents and hidden for their own protection.

But there are some who would rather Amber left Corfu’s terrible history well in the past. Can Amber uncover the heart-breaking truth about the two little girls, and what happened after a German soldier took a swim in the bay by their house? If she does, can the secrets of the past help her find happiness, or send her running from the island, alone?

A gripping, heart-wrenching and compelling read about the shadows at the heart of the sun-drenched island of Corfu and survival against all odds. Fans of Victoria Hislop, The Nightingale and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with Burning Island.

Readers are hooked on Burning Island:

‘Two tragic stories, both equally well told. I couldn't put the book down. The book will keep you reading until the end. It is exciting and tragic at the same time. It will keep you on the edge of your seat waiting to find out what happens next. This is one book you will not want to miss. I recommend it.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ?????

Told in two different time periods, this is a story that will leave you in tears, as humanity is exposed at its very worst, but also its very best’ Cayo Costa, ?????

‘The way this author writes I could feel what the Jewish people were going through… this story will make you cry in some spots so beware when you take up this book. You'll not want to put it down! …you might want a box of tissues too. I highly recommend this book’ Red Headed Book Lady, ?????

Beautifully written story with a dual storyline. Tragic and sad but filled with strong women this story will have you crying and reaching for that ray of hope… I had never read any book on Hitlers reach in Greece…


Author

Info

Reviews